The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author in this argument citing complaints gathered from the "commuters", negates the proposed solution by Motorists' lobby and recommends that the better solution is to add a bicycle lane by supporting using many residents are keen bicyclists and concluding this would reduce rush-hour traffic.

There is no specific evidence which tells us about validness and depth of the commuters which complained. The number of commuters which complained, it could be a small loud minority which complained or a large minority. It also depends if the commuters were asked about their opinion randomly, if the only people who gave their opinions were angry this would make the statement biased and misleading. The evidence provided could weaken the argument that the rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. This would also lead to not going with the recommendation mentioned by the author.

In the next sentence, the author does not specify which highway does the lobby wants to widen, if they are saying that Green Highway and Blue Highway should be widen than this strengthens the author's argument and makes their proposed recommendation more compelling. If they only said that the highway which is to be widen is Blue Highway, then this weakens the author's argument as widening Blue Highway could be much more impactful than widening Green Highway. The argument does not also specify by what amount the Green Highway was widened, if it was a substantial amount than it would support the author's argument and strengthen their proposed recommendation, but if it wasn't a substantial amount than it would weaken the author's argument and disregard that their solution is better.

Evidently we are not given how many of residents are actually keen bicyclists. Many could even mean a small minority and many could also mean a large proportion of the population. If it is a small minority, then this leads to the proposed solution not being viable as only a few people will use the lane and there will still be traffic congestion. If many people implies that a lage sum of people, this could strengthen author's argument if those people use the lane. This is important as people who are keen bicyclists might not use bicycles for commuting most of the time, if there is an evidence which tells that the commute distances are very long, then even the supposedly large proportion of bicyclists will not use the lane and there would be no difference in traffic. The assumption is also that the lane will be built not reduce the highway's area, if any evidence suggests that it is to be the case for Blue Highway, this could weaken the author's argument as though their might be some bicyclist travelling on the lane, the vehicles would have to go through even narrower road.

There are several evidence pieces needed which in most instance could weaken the author's argument. The recommendation which the author makes is not significantly persuasive enough to build a bicycle lane on a highway.