Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Scientific research and development are one of the most effective investments of time and money. Over the course of history, research in science and development has only proven to benefit the human kind and also many other living species. Restriction of breakthroughs in science is only going to reduce the quality of life. In fact, the government should be funding adequate resources to this field.

Science has been a huge reason for the development of our life and the way we live. From just a wheel shaped stone to now automated vehicles, from wearing minimal clothing to wearing designer and comfortable cloths. It has given us the solution to life threatening diseases and complex mathematical calculations. Science is the epitome of human development and is around us in every single way and molecule. Putting a limit to this could degrade the improvements in our life and keep us in a constant loop of unknowingness. What is beyond us? The answer can only be found through lots of research and effort.

That said, scientific upgrades can be a big issue to deal with and has to be carefully handled and use to utmost effect. Therefore, putting such valuable learnings in unknown or wrong hands could be drastic. One of the most tragic and deadly events that ever took place is the nuclear bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki. This event is the evidence that developments of higher values could be misused to the worst extent. The United States did not fully contemplate the effect of the bombing and acted upon shear rage which ended up in a gruesome way. The 2 cities still suffer with the effects until today.

In addition to that, the mid-western countries like Iran and Iraq still pose the threat of accumulation of nuclear weapons. As it is observed over the years, even though nuclear science has benefitted the human race, its has also paved way to destruction.

Many other instances of the negative impact of scientific research and developments have been witnessed in the world wars. The Napalm bomb is an incredible part of our history from which we can learn and not repeat there blunders again.

Thus, it is the duty of the Governments of each and every country to restrict or control the development in science and use it only to the progress of mankind and not for each other’s selfish needs or demonstrate the possession of power.