The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument is based on the interest of the people of Monroe in jazz and some specifics around it for a new jazz club in the city. From the provided statements it can be clearly understood that the people of Monroe are have been very keen towards jazz. But the plausibility of the statements is questionable.

Firstly, stating that jazz is ‘extremely popular’ in the city on the basis of an annual jazz festival. There could be other reasons like it being the only festival to take place in that area. An analysis of different festivals that took place in the course of the year and their attendance might give a better perspective towards the public’s lenience towards jazz.

Secondly, it is mentioned that the number of famous musicians in Monroe could be a factor which shows the people’s liking towards jazz. But ‘several’ could mean any number and is not irrefutable proof that the city has more renowned musicians than any other city. It is probable that almost every bustling city could contain these number of musicians. Hence, a proper estimate and comparison with other cities is crucial to make these judgements.

Thirdly, a nationwide study does not give satisfactory evidence about the actual city of Monroe. It is a flawed argument. The statement also includes the amount of expenditure of a jazz fan on jazz entertainment which neither gives an estimate on how many jazz fans are there in Monroe nor provides and clue on why there should be a jazz club in the city.

On the other hand, there is some deviations towards the likelihood and success of a jazz club in town. If the fact that several musicians of good recognitions have come from this city it true, it might indicate that there are a lot of the residents that want to learn and have an affinity to jazz.

Additionally, the radio show ‘Jazz nightly’ being the highest rated program could show that people are interested in listening to jazz and might enjoy a jazz club in the city.

Considering the details in the argument, a new jazz club should be built only if the evidences are proven to be correct and efficient.