Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Although I agree with the recommendation that governments should not place restrictions on most of the domains in scientific research, there are a few topics that deal with noxious substances which need to be restricted.

The freedom to choose what to research on is crucial for scientists to have promising contribution since their creativity should not be suppressed by any regulations. If the government only allows their scientists to focus on several fields that could be beneficial to the nation in the leader's view, those researchers could only work on some well-developed domains and doesn't have the permission to create new knowledge. For example, if the government only agrees with the research on making more deadly weapons to defend itself, there could not be the Internet that gives us such a convenient society.

The progress in scientific development could be hampered by any forms of restrictions. For example, the government could regulate the standard process of conducting an experiment that is quite time-consuming. As a result, the scientists would have to wait for five months in order to get the permission from the supervisors. Meanwhile, the other nation doesn't restrict the experiment to any certain form and leave the room for the researchers. Therefore, they could have their results of the same experiment in only two months and continue to improve it.

However, there are some harmful substances in the lab that should be used under some constraints. For example, some scientists are doing research on the behavior of deadly virus. If those virus can be used without any restriction, it possible that some researches accidentally release those virus and harm the citizens. The other example could be the case of nuclear weapons. If there is no restrictions on developing those dangerous weapons, people all over the world could be under the threaten of such powerful weapons.

I think that in most cases, the government should not interfere the scientists. Nevertheless, the research conducted on some special topics needs to be put under constraints in order to prevent any unpredictable disasters.