The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author states that by keeping its tradition of all-female education, Grove College will improve the morale among students and keep their financial support from its alumnae. However, in order to substantiate the claim, there are a few questions that need to be answered.

First, it is mentioned in the recommendation that about 80 percent of the students said that they wanted the school remain all female based on a survey conducted by the student government. Yet, how was the survey conducted? It is possible that due to the inexperience of the student government, there are some obvious flaws in the survey. For example, the total number of students that involved in the survey might be quite small because the student government just randomly asked students on the streets. Since most of the students on the streets were on their ways to the classrooms and were almost late, many people didn't want to answer the question.

Second, the author says that by keeping the school's tradition, it will improve the students' morale. However, does all-female education really tend to have better morale among their students than coeducation? It is likely that having only women or men in a school would make the students more likely to compete in a wrong way. For example, finding a mate is quite a crucial thing for students in Taiwan. If the students in one school are all female, it is likely that they would backbite each other to undermine their opponents.

Also, the author also claims that holding the tradition could keep the financial support from the alumnae. Nevertheless, does those alumnae who donate to the school are the same group of people that uphold the tradition? It might be possible that most of the alumnae who oppose coeducation don't make any contribution to make Grove College better. On the contrary, most of the people who support the school financially want the school to be better and one of the best ways to improve the make it better is to adopt coeducation. If the school keeps its tradition, they would probably feel disappointed, leading them decrease their donation.

The author argues that keeping the tradition of all-female education is important for Grove College in terms of the morale among the students and financial support from the alumnae. However, the author needs to answer the above questions first to justify his claim.