The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"Last week, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author claims that all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex should change their showerheads in order to restrict water flow and increase profits. However, there are several assumptions that need supports.

First, the author states that the change will definitely result in a considerable savings for the corporation. The assumption here is that the residents use water for the same amount of time as before. However, it might be possible that people use water for longer time due to the reduced water flow. What's worse is that because the water flow is restricted, people may be more careless about the usage. For example, they could forget to shutdown the water after they wash their hands more often. Therefore, the corporation needs to pay even more for water after the change.

The letter also mentions that there are only a few complaints about the adjustment. The author seems to assume that whenever a resident doesn't like modification, he will definitely complain about it. Yet, there is a possibility that some people would directly go find a new apartment instead of complaining with the corporation. Since the process of reporting a problem to the corporation could be quite demanding and most residents don't want to spend so much time on doing those boring things after a day of work, it is likely that the number of complaints the corporation received can't represent the actual number of residents who don't agree with the adjustment.

The author suggests that in order to increase profits, the modification should be applied to all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex. There is an assumption that residents of all the other nine buildings would have almost the same reaction as those of the first three buildings. Nevertheless, it is possible that the concerns of residents vary among the twelve buildings. For example, people who live in one of the buildings could have more money and pay more attention to the quality of life. As a result, when they found that the water pressure becomes lower, they decided to find a new house directly, making the profits of the corporation decreases.

The owner of Sunnyside Towers claims that they should restrict the water flow of all twelve buildings to make more money. However, the argument relies on several critical but unproven assumptions that the author needs to address.