The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author says that Quiot Manufacturing should reduce work time of their workers in order to reduce on-the-job accidents and increase productivity. However, the claim relies on some assumptions that need to be addressed.

The vice president mentions that the number of on-the-job accidents are 30 percent more at Quiot Manufacturing than that number at Panoply Industries. The assumption is that the these two company are analogous in various aspects such as working environment, worker's background. However, if it requires a lot of labor for workers at Quiot while employee at Panoply only need to do some assembling jobs, it is not reasonable to compare the number of the accidents of the two firms and conclude that short work time can result in less accidents. It is also possible that most workers at Quiot are older than those at Panoply. As a result, they could not be as concentrate as the employee at Panoply and make them easier to get hurt when working.

Some experts says that tiredness can lead to on-the-job accidents. The author assumes that those experts are worth trusted. Yet, for example, if they just come to the conclusion by intuition and don't have any certain evidence support their claim, the statement is quite problematic. Or maybe those experts are bribed by the workers, so they just make up some fake conclusions to suggest the company to reduce the average work time. The author should give the background of the experts to check whether their words can be trusted.

The author also assumes that reducing the work time by one hour is effective to restore the workers' energy. Nevertheless, if most worker use the one hour break to play video games or playing sports with their fellow, it is unlikely that those workers can ease their fatigue after the break. Therefore, the vice president should come up with some plans in order to ensure the workers do get some rest in the break time.

To substantiate his argument, the author should address the above assumptions.