The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author claims that interview-centered method is more accurate than observation-centered based one because its success in a group of islands including Tertia. However, the author should provide some information to justify his argument.

First, it is mentioned in the article that the author's recent interviews show that children in these islands spend more time talking about their parents. Therefore, it is more likely that they are reared by their biological parents. Nevertheless, the author doesn't offer any information about how many people were involved in the interviews and how the interviews were conducted. For example, it might be possible that there are only ten children being asked while there are almost one hundred kids in this group of islands. Thus, the conclusion made by the author might not be representative of the whole region due to the paucity of data. Even if the author really interviewed enough children, it is still probable that Tertia is not analogous to the other islands in the group. For example, adults in Tertia need to hunt so the children are raised by the elders in the village while the adults in other islands don't need to. As a result, the information he got from kids in those islands might be misleading to make the conclusion of how children are raised in Tertia.

Second, the author states that because the kids talk more about their parents, they can't be raised by the entire village. Yet, there is no evidence showing that kids won't talk about their biological parents if they are mainly reared by others. For example, many children in Taiwan are raised by their grandparents before entering elementary schools because both their parents need to work and have no time taking care of them. They can only meet their parents on weekend or holidays. However, they still talk about their parents a lot, including asking about when their parents would come to see them or whether their grandparents can take them to meet their parents.

Also, the author says that the interview-centered method is more accurate for understanding child-rearing traditions in any island cultures. However, the author doesn't provide any evidence that all island cultures in the world are not different from each other too much. Thus, the method can obtain results with same qualities. For example, it is reasonable that people on different islands might not share the same language so in some places, the researchers might find it difficult to communicate with their residents. As a result, there might be some misapprehension, leading the interviews to result in false conclusions.

To conclude, the author argues that the children in Tertia are mainly reared by their biological parents and that his interview-centered method is better than Dr. Field's observation-centered one. Nevertheless, the author should provide more evidence to substantiate his claim.