The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"Jazz music is extremely popular in the city of Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight. Also, a number of well-known jazz musicians own homes in Monroe. Nevertheless, the nearest jazz club is over an hour away. Given the popularity of jazz in Monroe and a recent nationwide study indicating that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment, a jazz music club in Monroe would be tremendously profitable."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author suggests that a jazz club would make a lot of money in Monroe. However, there are several assumptions that need supports in order to substantiate his claim.

First, the author mentions that there is an annual jazz festival in Monroe that attracts over 100,000 people. The assumptions is that most of the people that attend the festival are from Monroe or its neighborhoods. Therefore, it means that there are quite a few possible consumers that are going to have fun at the jazz music club. However, it is possible that many of the people are from the other cities and they are not likely to stay in Monroe for a long time after the festival. The reason why the festival is held at Monroe is only because of the cheap rent instead of their great population for enjoying jazz music.

The highest-rated radio program in Monroe is the weeknight program 'Jazz Nightly.' The author assumes that the rating is worth trusted. Yet, there is a possibility that the rating is biased. For example, people are more likely to use Internet as an interface to listen to music. As a result, there is few people that actually participated in the rating process of radio programs. Even if the result comes from a survey involving many people, it is still likely that those who listen to radio are not going to spend their money at a jazz music club. For example, most of those who listen to radio prefer to enjoy the music at night rather than go to the club.

The author states that typical jazz fan spends approximately $1,000 every year on jazz entertainment. The assumption here is that people do spend money at jazz music clubs. Nevertheless, it is still possible that people spend most of their money on other merchandise related to jazz music, for example, on buying CD or tickets for the jazz festivals.

The author's claim relies on several assumptions that need to be addressed.