The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. If we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program, we can predict that our profits will increase, too."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The marketing director suggests that they should institute a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program to attract more audience and increase their profits. However, the author needs to answer several questions first in order to justify his claim.

First, it is mentioned in the article that the proposed program can lead to increased profits. Yet, we need to know how much it cost the theatre to hold such a free campaign. If they want to evaluate whether they can make more revenues with the proposal, they can't only consider the benefits it brings to us but also need to take the cost entailed in to account. For example, the theatre might have to spend $30,000 dollars to hold the program, but the theatre could only earn more $20,000 dollars after the promotion.

Second, the author says that a nearby company have a successful experience to increase its profits with a similar program. Nevertheless, is the company analogous to the theatre? It is conceivable that these two firms would at least have some differences. Therefore, it might not be reasonable for the director to assume that the theatre will have the same outcome as the company had. For example, the company is located in a neighborhood where many rich people live. As a result, those who attended the program two years ago started to think that what the company did is interesting and decided to buy their products. On the contrary, the theatre is located in rural areas where most people don't have the same amount of money.

Even if the theatre is analogous to the company, is the program the only and the most important reason that made the company earn more since then? The increase in profits might result from several reasons. For example, many people decided to move to the town at which the company is. Therefore, the promotion campaign might only have a little effect in increasing the revenues. For another example, a big corporation signed a contract with the company two years ago, so it started to have a considerable and consistent earning since then.

The author states that by holding a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program, the theatre is likely to stop its decline in audience and increase their profits. However, there are some important questions that need to be answered to substantiate his argument.