The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author claims that Salicylates help reduce the number of headaches in Mentia and he predicts that the number will keep decreasing due to the new use of salicylates as flavor additives. However, the author doesn't provide enough information to justify his claim.

The summary mentions that salicylates are members of the family in which a medicine that is already known for its effect on ameliorating headaches. Yet, the evidence that shows salicylates have the same effect is not provided. It is possible that although two chemicals are from the same family, they don't really have the same usage as the other. For example, there are some chemicals from the same family of alcohol but could make people die if they drink them because those chemicals have different reaction in human's body with alcohol.

The author also claims that the correlation between the use of salicylates and decline in the number of headaches is corroborated by a twenty-year study. Nevertheless, there is no information about how the survey was conducted. It might be possible that it is a sloppy research which the experiment setups are not well thought and thus doesn't worth trusting. For example, it only considered the people from fifty to sixty years old when the research started. And the reason why there is a decline in the number of headaches is because most of the people surveyed retired. Therefore, they don't have any worries about their work and have no more headaches.

The author also predicts that the number of headaches can be even lower because of more usage of salicylates. However, he doesn't provide any information about the current number in Mentia. For example, there might possibly be only few cases of headaches. As a result, there is no more room for improvement. Even if there are still some people that have trouble with headaches, there is also no evidence showing that the new use as flavor additives can reduce the number. For example, those citizen who currently have headaches already take a certain amount of Salicylates in their daily lives and the reason why they still have that symptoms are not the lack of consumption of Salicylates.

The author states that the number will be lower after the recent change in food-processing companies that add salicylates as flavor additives. Yet, to substantiate his claim, he needs to provide more information as above mentioned.