Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author suggests that students should not only focus on their majors, and thus, the schools should require them to take courses outside their fields. Although I agree that taking some courses of other professions is vital and necessary, I think the total number of required credits should not be so overwhelm that put pressure on students.

I think one advantage of taking a variety of courses is that it can broaden students' horizon. If they only focus on their profession, their perspectives about the world could be quite narrow. On the contrary, learning new knowledge can make students have the ability to deal with problems with different approaches. For example, by taking a programming course, a economy-major student can have the ability to deal with real world problems with the help of computer and can therefore have more accurate analysis.

The other important reason that I agree with the claim is that many students are probably still confused about their future. They haven't decided what to do when they graduate from the universities. Therefore, taking various courses of different fields could effectively help them to realize what they are really interested in. For example, students in Taiwan may be forced by their parents to study in the department of electrical engineering which they don't have interest in when they have no idea what to study. By taking a variety of courses, they can discover that what they are really interested in could be fields such as economy or managing.

Although I do agree that taking courses outside students' field of study should be a requirement, I don't think that the more the courses required, the better students will be. Since one of the main purpose of college education is to cultivate professional abilities, the requirement should not put too much pressure on students, making them lack of time to study on what they should mainly focus on.

The others disapprove with the claim may argue that even if universities don't require them to do so, students will also take the courses of other professions; therefore, schools should not put those restrictions in order to give students freedom to choose courses. However, I don't believe that students will spontaneously take a variety of courses if not required because of the instinct laziness. There is no motivation for students to spend time on studying rather than hanging out with their friends.

I think that a certain degree of requirement for students to study a variety of courses is necessary. However, the exact number of credits needed should not be overwhelm, and thus, should be adjustable according to different scenarios.