As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

Slightly different from the statement, I think that many knowledge concern with more abstract concepts. Therefore, it makes people feel complex and is hard to understand. However, there are still some knowledge that can help us to have deeper understanding of some once inexplicable problems.

As students enter colleges, many of them would have to learn some advanced mathematical courses, including linear algebra and calculus. When acquiring such knowledge, people would feel that those things are complex and confusing. It is because that most of the advanced topics are focusing on some abstract concepts. Since people couldn't simply imagine such things in their heads, it is difficult for them to comprehend. For example, linear algebra, a basic course that almost every student major in science or engineering should learn, is mainly considering high dimensional space. Because most of the human can only imagine up to three dimensions, those abstract ideas are hard to be illustrated.

Philosophy is also another subject that when people go deeper and deeper, they will start to feel confused. It is because that many theories in philosophy consider complex topics. For example, they start to discuss what is the purpose of living. For topics like this, it is easy to have two completely different point of view while both of them seem reasonable. As a result, people would start to feel perplexed since there is often no absolute answer.

However, there are still some knowledge that could help us have clearer view of the world around us. One of them is physics. When we acquire more knowledge of physics, we can have the ability to explain the phenomenon that once looks mysterious. For example, when we were kids, we didn't know why there are clouds in the sky. After we learned that water will evaporate and form those clouds, we can comprehend how the world works more. Another example is that long time ago, people didn't know how the universe looks like and why we can see the stars periodically. After many more research on this topic, we know that those stars are like the sun but far from us and the reason why they show periodically is due to the earth's rotation.

I agree that some specific domains make people difficult to comprehend when we acquire more knowledge of them. Nevertheless, some domains such as physics could help people have clearer view of the world in contrary.