The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The director of student housing states that Buckingham College should build more dormitories corresponding to the growing student population. However, the author should provide some information in order to substantiate the claim.

The memo mentions that the enrollments will double after 50 years based on the current growing rate. Nevertheless, the author doesn't provide any evidence about how long the current trends will last for. If the cause of increasing students is the rising birth rate after the war, then it is reasonable that the trends will not last for 50 years. Therefore, the prediction that the enrollments will double could be an overestimation.

Even if the enrollments will double, there is no information about the current dormitory usage. If the dormitories are already full of students, then the call for new ones is quite conceivable. However, if there are still a lot of empty rooms right now, those dormitories could have the ability to handle the increasing students. As a result, the demand of new dormitories is not quite urgent.

The author also says that the average rent for an apartment in town has risen, and thus, claims that students won't have the ability to afford it. Still, the evidence between the reason and his claim is not provided. It is possible that the rising rent is due to the inflation. Since inflation is caused by people's increasing purchase power, it will not actually make students more difficult to afford the rent for an apartment. Even if the rising rent corresponds to an increasing demand, that doesn't mean that students of Buckingham College will not be able to afford it. If the students mainly come from high class families, it is not a big deal to pay for the apartment no matter how high the rent is. Therefore, the author should also provide the students' background in order to make the claim.

The author suggests that by building some attractive new dormitories, students are more likely to enroll to this school. There is no any evidence showing that students choose their schools based on whether the school has fancy dormitories. If a reliable survey confirms that students in fact take the dormitories into their consideration when deciding where to study, the claim can be reasonable. Yet, if students only take the school's reputation into account, then building new dormitories would not help increase the enrollments.

To justify his argument, I think the author should provide evidence as above mentioned.