The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test of UltraClean at our hospital in Workby, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The director suggests that all hospitals in the system should supply UltraClean in order to prevent patient infections. However, this claim relies on several assumptions that need supports.

First, the author states that the concentrated solution of UltraClean outperforms hand soaps in laboratory experiments. Since hospitals need to take cost in to account, they would probably consider using diluted solution instead of concentrated one. The assumption here is that the diluted solution of UltraClean also has this promising performance in reducing bacteria. However, it is quite conceivable that the performance of most diluted solution could be worse. For example, 30% alcohol would not have the same effect on killing bacteria as the 75% one.

The memo also mentions that the subsequent test shows that UltraClean really helps reduce the cases of patient infection. Here, the author assumes that the environments of the hospital at Workby is analogous to the others. Therefore, the result is reasonable and worth trusting. Yet, for example, if Workby is a modern and clean city where the issue of patient infection is already negligible while the other hospitals in the system are located in some old towns where many streets are dirty and suitable for bacteria to proliferate, the conclusion the author draw could be misleading.

The author also claims that by applying UltraClean throughout the hospital system, the serious patient infections can be prevented. The assumption is that the main source of patient infections is bacteria. As a result, UltraClean can help control the number of patient infections due to its effective reduction of bacteria. Nevertheless, it might be possible that there are many other causes for patient infections that are more important than bacteria. For example, virus could be one of the powerful sources to infect patients. If hand soaps outperform UltraClean in controlling the growth of virus, applying UltraClean to all hand-washing station might not indeed reduce the number of patient infections.

To substantiate his claim, the author needs to address the above assumptions.