To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

I agree that by observing the major cities of a nation, we can understand the most important characteristics of a society.

Those main cites always has huge population since they contains many job offers and desirable environment. Therefore, the observation made in those big cities are less likely to have bias due to the diversity and the total number of people observed. For example, Taipei is the capital and the largest cities in Taiwan. There are various kinds of people live here, including professors, students, and workers. Also, their hometowns are different. As a result, we can easily catch the most important and shared characteristics of the society.

Also, what we think of a society is often defined by the accomplishment of those main cities. If the capital of a nation is dirty and disgusting, we would not expect that the other cities of the nation should be clean. The reason is that a government often pays more attention in the major cities than others. Therefore, if they ignore a certain aspect in those cities, it is not probable that they surprisingly focus on that aspect in a less known city. For example, when we take a look at streets at Tokyo, a famous cities in Japan, we can see that they are clean and well-organized. However, when we observe the streets in Beijing, the capital of China, we would see that they are not as clean as Tokyo. Therefore, we would not view Chinese as disciplined as Japanese.

Someone would argue that there are also some important characteristics which can only be observed in countryside. However, since the main cities are attractive to many people across the nation, many people who are from the those minor cities would like to move to big ones. For example, many young people don't want to be limited by the resources that a minor city has. Thus, they go to the prosperous cities to find jobs with higher salaries. For example, many students from Pingtung, the southest county of Taiwan which has few chance for them, would move to Hsinchu, the city provides a lot of job offers with desirable pay, to fulfill their ambitions. As a result, those characteristics can also be observed in those main cities.

I totally agree with the statement that by studying the major cities of a society, one can easily observe the most important features of the entire population.