The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement.

"Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire, because it has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. Another advantage is that housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Moreover, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. And best of all, retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author suggests that Clearview is a wonderful place for retirement. However, in order to substantiate his claim, the author needs to provide more evidence.

First, the article mentions that there was a significant drop of housing costs in Clearview last year. Yet, there is no information of the housing cost for previous years. It is possible that the price drop during the past year is due to some unprecedented events and is not likely to happen again. For example, due to a wrong decision made by the mayor, the factories in Clearview were less constrained by the environmental regulation and produced more noxious gas. Therefore, many citizens moved out of the cities, causing the house price to decrease significantly. By recognizing his mistake, the mayor decide to adopt the original regulation. As a result, many people are going to move back to Clearview this year, making the price to increase in contrary to the author's prediction.

Second, the mayor promises to many new programs in favor of the citizens. However, the author doesn't provide any information about the mayor's credit. Since politicians often guarantee to enact many attractive policies during the election campaign, it is likely that the mayor won't really make his promise come true in the future. For example, almost every politicians in Taiwan will say that they are going to deal with conflicts between Taiwan and China after they are elected. Yet, almost no one actually dare to do it.

The author also states that the health care system in Clearview is excellent due to the large number of physicians in this area. Nevertheless, there isn't any evidence showing that the more physician a city owns, the better the health care it has. The ability of those physicians is more important the number. For example, one of the reasons that there are so many physicians in this area is because the rent is low. Thus, those who just graduated from the universities and haven't gain enough money would like to start a clinic in this city. In this situation, it is possible that the health care system would not be better than other regions since most of the physicians here do not have much experience.

The author claims that the Clearview is a great place to enjoy life after retirement. However, he need to show more information according to the above questions to justify his claim.