Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

In contrast to the claim, I think that there are still many living men or women that are regarded as heroes even under the scrutiny of the media.

Generous people are often viewed as heroes by humans. Even if the media finds something bad about the person, such as that he smokes or that he drinks a lot, it doesn't change the fact that the person did something great and worth applauding. For example, Shu-Chu, Chen, a famous vender in the market in Taiwan, saves a lot of money to donate to schools while she only earns a few money everyday. There are many media criticizing her when she stood up for a political figure running for the presidency, saying that she becomes a tool of the politicians. However, most people still think that she is great for her generous donation.

People who made great contribution in various domains such as technology are also regarded as heroes. Without their hard working, we can't live in such a convenient society. The reason why we think of them as great people is because of their important impact to the world rather than their identities. For example, the person who created the Internet is commonly viewed as the hero that gives us such a connected world. People hardly pay attention to his personality but focus on the contribution itself.

Those who save the people in need are also a kind of heroes. They take the risks that they will probably get hurt to rescue the others. For example, when there was an earthquake in 1999 in Taiwan, many people not only thought of themselves but also helped each other. They are all heroes that did something great for the society no matter who they are. The greatness is about the things they did.

I think that although the media nowadays could probably make a person's reputation diminish, the reason why some people are called heroes is not about the person itself but what they did.