Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

I mostly disagree with the statement. I think that formal education is crucial for developing individual thinking. However, if students only focus on some trivial details to have better scores on tests, their minds and spirits would be restrained.

First, students need to learn some basic knowledge in order to have the ability to think. Formal education is one of the best ways for students to build their foundations. For example, without learning basic calculation such as addition and multiplication, people can't even imagine there are a lot of rooms for research, including linear algebra which is related to some mathematic operations in high dimensional space. For another example, people need to acquire how to read and write to express their thoughts. Without such ability, we are not different with primates. It is because such a ability of communication that allows to have this great society.

Second, students need a direction to guide them to learn. Since people are curious in too many things, we are likely to be distracted if there isn't any guideline for us to follow. For example, when we were kids, we might be interested in many different things, such as playing around with friends and finding why there is cloud in the sky. Without a designed curriculum, we would probably have spent most of our time on playing since we didn't know how to control our time.

However, many people might possibly lose the ability to think as an individual under formal education. One of the reasons is that formal education requires some system to evaluate whether the student has learned the context taught in classes and the main approach is by taking exams. But since exams usually have fixed answers and students only want to get higher scores, they could just memorize the answers and lose the ability to think whether the answers is reasonable or not. For example, high school students in Taiwan need to take a general test to apply for universities. Since the higher scores a student takes, the better college he can get into. Many of them focus on how to perform great on the test instead of pay attention to the actual reason behind the answers.

To conclude, I think that formal education is important for students. Without it, many students can't even have the ability to think and discuss. Nevertheless, there are some issues with current education system that might cause students to lose their individual thinking.