The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author states that the consequence of replacing butter by margarine is negligible since the customers barely complain about the change. However, the author fails to consider several alternative views which will undermine his explanations.

The memo says that only 2 percent of customers have expressed that they are angry with change, meaning that about 98 percent of them are happy with it. However, there is a possibility that people only complain when they are angry enough. Therefore, there could be a huge amount of customers who slightly disapprove the replacement but didn't express the feeling. As a result, even though the restaurant only receives a few complaints, the number of customers could drop dramatically. The author should conduct a comprehensive survey to make sure whether the other people agree with the change.

The author also mentions that restaurant receives some reports from servers showing that people don't complain when they are given margarine while asking for butter because they can't recognize the two or just use butter as a general term. Yet, it is possible that there are indeed many complaints received by the servers but some reasons make them unwilling to report. For example, the server may have to write a thorough report to explain the whole scenario why the customers were angry and get a lot of questions that asked by those managers. Since those servers are already exhausted after a day of work, there is no motivation for them to report the complaints of customers to get themself into troubles.

Even if the servers do report every case they encountered to their boss, the author still fails to take another possible situation into account, which is that the number of customers who are not happy with the change are also quite high. Since there are people okay with the replacement doesn't mean there can't be people disagree with it, the restaurant could end up losing a large portion of its customers. Also, it is harder to attract customers than to lose them. Only focus on the those people who don't have any comments on the replacement can probably be misleading.

There are a few alternative explanations which are not considered by the author.