Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Although it is important for students to have the ability to find a job after they graduate, I believe that students should study in the fields where they are interested in.

The most important thing to learn from colleges is the ability to learn. By choosing the field which students have talents and are interested in, they will try to overcome every obstacle they encounter because of their passion. Therefore, they can learn how to deal with problems that come to them in the future. For example, in department of computer science, many students feel depressed when they can't find the mistakes in their homework. However, those who are really interested in this profession would not just simply give up. Instead, they would go deeper and learn more detail knowledge in order to explain why the small mistake makes the whole project fail.

The passion about learning is a valuable thing that students must keep after graduation. If they just choose to work on a field which someone told them that is easier to find a job, they could probably lose their motivation because they are not really interested in that domain. For example, many students in Taiwan choose electrical engineering as their first choice due to the enormous job offers related to it. However, what they really have interests are fields such as arts, literature. As a result, they are overwhelmed by the huge amount of homework and even quit from colleges at the end.

Some people would argue that if students don't study in the fields which more likely lead to jobs, they could probably have a hard time after graduation. However, many people don't work in the domain they chose to learn in colleges. For example, in Taiwan, many software engineers didn't study in the computer science in their colleges. But based on their learning experience in universities, they have the ability to quickly learn some new knowledge, making them not limited to what they've learned and can be adaptive to any changes in the future job market.

I think that what really matters in college life is not which domain a student chooses but what he can do when they face some difficult problems.