It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

I agree that most of the time, we can define who we are by our identification with social groups. However, slightly different from the statement, I think that there are still some innate features that we can't change.

We can define what culture we are from by the identification with a certain group. By adopting different lifestyles, we are not limited to the culture where we are born. For example, many young students in Taiwan love animations from Japan. They not only learn how the speak Japanese but also love many traditions of Japan such as eating sushi or ramen. Therefore, they are already Japanese in their point of view. For another example, many children are raised by their grandparents in rural areas in Taiwan before entering elementary schools. When they are in such rural areas, they would proudly think of themselves as kids from the countryside. But when they move back the cities, they would not say that they are from such a minor city.

In this open society, whether we are male or female is defined by how we look at ourselves. The gender is now a spectrum rather than only two different states. And we can easily choose how we want to look like without the being restricted by the physical body. For example, men can think of themselves as beautiful ladies and dress even more beautiful than women without being criticized.

However, there are some features that we can't modify even if we think of ourselves as the other types. Race is one of the characteristics that people can't change since it is innate. Even if we think that we are from another race, the reality is not changeable. For example, even people in Taiwan consider themselves as Americans and have completely the same lifestyle as a real American. The truth is that the forebear of themselves are still from Taiwan.

I think that there are some features that we can change by identification with a certain groups. Nevertheless, some born characteristics are grounded truth that can't be modified.