Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.

Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.

I agree that by taking the students recommendation into account, the once tedious courses could be more interesting to students. However, I think there are some courses that aren't easy to adopt what students want.

The students can have more motivations when taking a course that they are interested in. By adopting the suggestions of students, a teacher can make his lecture more interesting and attractive. For example, professor Hung-Yi, Lee does an excellent job on teaching the machine learning, one of the hottest topic in computer science right now. What he does is that he used various interesting examples, such as Pokemons, to elaborate the difficult concepts. It makes many students want to take his courses and really learn a lot of useful knowledge.

Also, the teacher might focus on something that is not up-to-date. Many professors only teach what is important in their own view, which is those things famous when they are still students in colleges. As a result, what they teach could be useless to students because those knowledge are already replaced by some advanced one. For example, some professors in the department of computer science still think that students should be required to implement a compiler, which is a basic program of a computer. Yet, people merely deal with that after graduation. Therefore, learning such a thing could be a waste of time.

However, not every lecture can easily adopt what students want. I think that although motivating students to learn is crucial, the essence of the lecture should not be compromised. For example, the teacher of courses such as calculus and linear algebra could not find a good way to combine students' interest into the lecture. If teachers are required to take every suggestions of students into account, including using cartoon characters to make some toy examples. Students could barely learn a thing after the courses.

I think that teachers should make their best efforts to take the students' interests and suggestions in to account. However, if it is too hard to combine the courses with those recommendations, it is not required to do so since the essence of the lecture should not be compromised.