The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Slightly different from the statement, I think that the greatness of a person should not only be evaluated from the current viewpoint but also need to consider the his or her contemporaries.

One of the important indicators to define greatness is whether the person leaves great influence on the people who live after him. If we only take the comments of his contemporaries into account, we would definitely ignore such an important aspect. For example, many people in Taiwan couldn't understand why the government spent so much money on constructing a science park at Hsinchu, a rural county at that time. However, the science park now make a lot of contributions not only on making money but also making Taiwan famous for its high quality technological products.

Someone would argue that we need to take the corresponding background into account to evaluate whether a person is great or not. Therefore, how the contemporaries thought of the person would be much more important. Yet, people tend to think of the achievements in their era the best, leading to overestimating their true contributions. For example, many old people in Taiwan thinks that what they did is extremely crucial for the development of the society. Nevertheless, the real contributions they left are relatively small from today's view.

Although what we think of greatness is important, the comments by their contemporaries can't be neglected. Sometimes, the great impact of a person can't be simply evaluated by what he left to the modern society but how he influence the people at the same period with it. For example, though the theory which argued that the earth is the center of the universe is proven to be wrong, it somehow stimulated the scientific research, making people start to think how the universe works. As a result, even if the theory itself doesn't have anything to notice in current scientific society, its impact on the development is not negligible, making it a great step toward deeper research of the universe.

I think although how people after a person can make precise evaluation on his greatness, the impact he made to his contemporaries is also important, and thus should not be neglected.