Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

I don't completely agree with the recommendation. I think that although government has its own profession and should not be consistently influenced by people's will, it should not make some decisions arbitrarily especially when those decisions are related to welfare of all the citizens.

Some decision making requires a certain degree of profession and knowledge in order to evaluate the result. If the decision is done according to people's will, it could make the things go worse due to lack of background. For example, one of the biggest issues in 2020 is covid-19. If the government let its people to decide whether it should lock its boundary to prevent the pandemic to spread, the people could think that it's their freedom to decide where to go, and thus should not be restricted by some policies. This lack of realization of the possible outcomes could lead to a complete disaster.

Efficiency is also an important criteria in decision making. If we let people to vote for every decision the government should make, it is quite time consuming and would definitely reduce the productivity of the nation. For example, we would need to take five days to decide whether we should increase the money spent on education and take another five days to decide whether we should use the increase budget to increase the teacher's wage.

However, there are some specific topics that should be decided by the citizens. When the consequence of the decision would affect every people, it should not be decided by only a few people in the office due to their possible bias on evaluating a policy. For example, since Brexit is strongly related to every citizen in the United Kingdom, the decision should be made by all of the people, including the rich and the poor, male and female.

Although I agree that government should not unquestioningly carry out the will of its citizen on every domain because some decision making needs a certain level of background knowledge to evaluate the outcome, there are still some important things that need to be decided by all of the people due to its great influence on everyone in the nation.