The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author states that in order to ameliorate the decline in listener numbers, WWAC should change to a news and talk format. However, he fails to provide some important information to substantiate his claim.

Firstly, it is mentioned in the memo that the decrease in audience is because the new residents don't like WWAC's rock-music format. Yet, the author doesn't show any evidence that the most important factor is because of the taste. There are also many different factors that could make people don't want to listen to a certain radio station. For example, it is likely that WWAC has most of their programs at midnight while most of the new residents are people after retirement and tend to go to sleep earlier than normal people. Therefore, no matter how the radio station changes its format, it is not going to have significant improvement on increasing listeners. Another example could be that the they don't like the host's tone, leading them not to listen to WWAC.

Secondly, the author says that those new residents have limited interest in music by showing the fact that there is a decline in sales of recorded music. Nevertheless, there is no evidence that people who love music would definitely buy CDs. Since most of the music can be searched on the Internet now, stream music has became the major source for people to enjoy music. Therefore, the sales in recorded music may not imply their ignorance of music. For example, it might be possible that many of the new residents love classical music and due to the fact that most of the stream music applications such as Youtube music mainly provide pop songs, they are really interested in some radio programs that play those classical music.

Also, the manager claims that they should change to a news and talk format, which starts to attract people's attention recently. However, no evidence is provided to justify that there is no other competitor on this topic. Since the trend should be saw by many managers of different radio station, it is quite conceivable that many of them would want to increase their profit by switching to this format. For example, if there are 3,000 listeners who want news and talks on the radios, and there are three different radio stations provide such a topic. Therefore, every radio station has 1,000 audience in average. On the other hand, there are 1,500 listeners who want to listen to rock music on radios, and only WWAC has such a service. It might be possible that after changing to news and talk format, the number of listeners could drop further.

The author claims that WWAC should change their format to stop the decline in listener numbers. Yet, in order to justify his argument, he should provide more information.