In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author states that the approach Prunty County adopted failed to improve highway safety while the attempt by Butler County succeeded. Therefore, Prunty County should undertake the same method as Butler County. However, the author needs to provide more evidence to justify his claim.

First, it is mentioned that the number of accidents has not decreased. As a result, the author claims that the improvement doesn't work. Yet, the information of percentage of accidents is not offered. It is possible that the increased number of accidents is due to the increased number of drivers in Prunty County. For example, there could be a huge construction and make a lot of workers move into the county. Although the actual number of accidents is 5 percent higher, the number of drivers here is 20 percent higher than before.

Even if the percentage of accidents increases after the improvement project, the author fails to provide information about how serious those accidents are. It might be possible that most of the accidents this year only slightly injure people while a large proportion of accidents before always made people seriously injured or dead. For example, 60 percent of accidents in Prunty County the year before the improvement resulted in people being dead. After the attempt had been taken, only 10 percent of the people involved in the accidents need to stay in the hospital to recover from severe injury.

The author also says that the approach took by Butler County works due to the fact the there are 25 percent fewer reported accidents compared to five years ago. Nevertheless, there is no information about the years in between. The author could possibly only provide the records that substantiate his claim and hide the rest. For example, the number of accidents after Butler County took the improvement is 50 percent higher than its previous year. The reason could be that people had more confidence when they were driving because they thought the road had been wider and it was harder for them to crash into another vehicle.

To substantiate the author's argument, he should provide the above evidence.