The following appeared in a health magazine.

"The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the most healthy citizens regularly eat."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author states that the people in Forsythe live more healthy lives than before. However, in order to substantiate his claim, he needs to provide more evidence.

Firstly, the author mentions a survey that says the citizens conform more closely to the recommendations of the government than they used to. Yet, there is no evidence that the survey is worth trusting. People tend to express themselves as better ones. For example, people would like to exaggerate that they earn more money than they really do. Even if the people do tell the truth to the researchers, the author doesn't provide any information about how the survey was conducted. For example, the survey could have randomly asked five people on the street and made the conclusions. Therefore, the author should show more details of how the data was collected.

Secondly, it is mentioned in the magazine that there is a significant increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a salutary substance. However, the author doesn't provide any information of the reason that results in such an increase. It is possible that although sales does increase, the average amount of kiran that a person in Forsythe consumes doesn't change a lot. For example, the increase is because of a huge growth in the population in this cities. Therefore, the author should show the growth rate of Forsythe to evaluate whether people really consume more kiran than before.

Also, it is stated that the trend can also be shown in a decrease in sales of sulia which is not common in the most healthy citizens' diet. Nevertheless, there isn't any evidence showing that the less one takes in sulia, the more healthy a person would be. There could be many reasons for those health people to not consume sulia. For example, it is possible that sulia is a kind of substance that can help people reduce their blood pressure. Since those healthy people don't have to deal with such issues, they don't have to consume it. In contrast to the author's argument, the decrease in the sales of it could mean that more people start to ignore the importance of their health.

The author states that the citizens in Forsythe adopted more healthful lifestyles than before. However, he should show more evidence to justify his claim.