The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend — the city-run public schools — comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools — even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author states that residents of Parson City place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than those of Blue City based on the money they spend on it. However, some information is not provided to justify his claim.

First, the letter mentions that Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City. Yet, the information of previous years is not provided by the author. For example, it is probably that Parson City only pay its attention to public schools these few years. Therefore, the spending increases rapidly due to the construction of the new schools. On the contrary, Blue City keeps working on improving their education environment all the time. Although it doesn't spend quite as much as Parson City recently, the average money it spends on education of a decade is much more than that of Parson City.

Second, there is no evidence showing that the actual number of students in the two cities are the same even if their have about the same number of residents. For example, sixty percent of the people in Parson City are under twenty years old. Thus, there are many people that still rely on public schools. However, only ten percent of the citizens in Blue City are still in schools because it is a cities full of factories. As a result, the difference in money spent on education merely because the actual demand is no the same.

Also, the author also claims that the more a city spends on education, the higher value it places on it. Nevertheless, the author doesn't show any evidence that the money and the priority have some correlation. There are many different ways for a government to spend money on schools, and not every way would improve the education quality directly. For example, the mayor of Parson City might possibly put a lot of attention on the look of the schools. Therefore, most of the money spent are used to repair the buildings. In contrast, the leader in Blue City focus on improving the learning experience of students, so he spends most of the money on buying new equipments and paying more to the teachers in order to encourage their enthusiasm in teaching.

To substantiate the author's argument, he needs to provide more information.