Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.

I don't agree with the recommendation. I think that teachers should teach the facts first and then explain the concepts and reasons behind the observations.

First, teaching the facts can make students curious about the reasons behind them. Therefore, students can be motivated and desire to learn. It is crucial for educators to offer motivations for students because if they are willing to know the truth behind the facts, they might not be limited to what teachers taught in classes but search for more information on their own. For example, when kids observe that there are clouds in the sky, they start to ask a lot of questions about why they are formed.

Second, ideas and concepts are sometimes hard to understand because they are too abstract. By offering the facts first, students can always think of an example when they try to realize the theories. For example, many teachers in Taiwan take students to see the rainbow first and then explain the reasons behind it. Thus, when they teach that people would see different colors at different angles, students can easily understand because they have already observed the fact.

Also, most theories come from some facts that were inexplicable so teachers that teach the truths and then try to explain them can make students understand the actual research process. For example, most teachers in Taiwan pay too much attention on teaching the theories and fail to offer some reasons why scientists would like to develop such new concepts. As a result, many Taiwanese students think that they should stay in the lab and wait until they suddenly come up with some interesting ideas when they try to do some researches. However, most of the scientific breakthroughs come into being to explain to observations that don't fit in current theories rather than just pop up in scientists' heads.

To conclude, I think that the facts are more concrete and important to motivated students to think of why we observe them. Therefore, teachers should offer the facts first and then explain the ideas.