The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author suggests that a business which wants to have faster growth should only hire people who require less than 6 hours of sleep. However, the claim relies on several critical assumptions that need to be addressed.

First, it is mentioned in the article that the study shows an association between the amount of sleep and the success of the executives' firms. The author assumes that the result is worth trusting. However, there is no information about how the research was conducted. There could be several flaws in the survey that leads to a misleading conclusion. For example, the survey might only use the record that support its argument to indicate that the less an executive sleeps, the more his firm could earn.

Second, the author says that those firms which have executives that sleep less than 6 hours had higher profit margins and faster growth. The assumption is that all companies in the comparisons are analogous to each other. Yet, it is reasonable that there are some differences among those firms. For example, the companies that experienced faster growth are making computer components. Due to the rapid growth of technology, the demand of these components are growing, leading higher profit margins. Also, the executives need to sleep less in order to keep track of the producing process. On the other hand, those firms that earned less are making snacks. Since the demand for snacks is limited, those executives don't have to work for such a long period and the companies don't earn many money.

The author also states that the firm should only hire people sleep less than 6 hours to improve its profits. It is assumed that the same association between the amount of sleep and the success on the firm can be observed in all positions not limited to the executives. Nevertheless, the works of each position is completely different. For example, those employees who do the assembling jobs might need more sleep since the works they need to do is pretty laborious. If the company only hire assembling workers that sleep less than 6 hours, most of them could fell tired and make a lot of mistakes. As a result, the company would earn less due to the inefficient producing process.

To conclude, the author claims that the company should only hire people that sleep less than 6 hours to increase its profits. However, there are some assumptions that need to be addressed to substantiate the argument.