Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Scientific developments drive society forward by introducing advanced technologies that come with conveniences and luxurious. Scientific research is in governments’ interests. One of the government’s duties is to provide better lives for its people and scientific developments are able to achieve this goal. It is proposed that governments should place little restrictions on scientific research. Scientists should have the freedom to conduct research independent of the government’s will. However, governments should interfere with scientific research when the research has potential dangerous outcomes or the research is related to the welfare of people.

We should consider all scientific research as double-edge swords. Dangerous research topics should be under the governments’ watch. Research about nuclear weapons could potentially get exploited by individuals with ill-intentions. Without regulations and restrictions, such research product could get misused and, therefore, disturb the safety of people. On the other hand, without restrictions, research on sensitive topics could generate international tensions between countries. Other countries that don’t have nuclear weapons may want to start investing in nuclear research because they fear of unregulated nuclear threats from other countries. So, governments should keep their eyes closely on sensitive research topics and place restrictions to ensure public safety.

The government should work closely with research that has a long-term beneficial effect on the nation’s developments with restrictions. Besides providing a secure environment for its citizens, the government should also plan a sustainable future for the next generations. Sometimes governments are required to take a lead on initiating new scientific research that could potentially benefit mankind in the long run. For example, the U.S. government decided to invest in the Moon landing project in the 1960s. Many held against opinions to this action because they thought that there were more pressing issues needed to address such as racial division, poverty, and gender inequality. Sixty years later, we are benefited from technologies that were invented from the moon landing project such as teletransmission, extreme weather-resistant materials, and space travel technologies. Thus, sometimes governments’ involvements in scientific development could generate a positive effect.

On the other hand, for scientific research that isn’t sensitive and potentially harmful, governments should not interfere with the work of scientists’. In most countries, the majority of the policymakers do not come from a scientific background. They should not command scientists what to research. When a government gives directions to its scientists, scientists lose their freedom to study what really intrigued them. Therefore, society might lose potential scientific developments on underdeveloped topics.

In sum, scientific research should remain independent from governments’ involvement. But it is necessary for governments to step in and be the watchdog for people when research has a potential threat to mankind.