GRE Issue:Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation must be the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Reason: Great achievements by a nation's rulers, artists, or scientists will ensure a good life for the majority of that nation's people

Every person loves their nation and wanted to see their countries entitled with a great nation. In the given prompt an author assumes that title of a great nation can be obtained by a triumph of its rulers, artists, or scientists because achievement by its elite ensures a quality life for most of the national citizen. However, an author does not provide a definition of great nation. For me, a definition of a great nation is a nation which is popular all around the world and where citizens are having good life along with their voice, conventional or unconventional, is heard. Taking this definition, I accede, to some extent, with the claim and reason because the achievement of elites makes their country popular across the world and can make the life of the citizen prosperous and happy, but it does not always produce the desired outcome.

Feats of the ruler, artists, or scientists not only make them popular in surrounding setting but also all across the world. From the evolution of human civilization, we are hearing the stories of the grandeur tasks, authentic or unauthentic, performed by elites. As we hear these stories, we, directly or indirectly, link them with their nation, making these nations popular all across the world. For instance, when we discuss Napoleon Bonaparte, we directly think of France or about Shakespeare, it remind us about England. Thus, achievement of the nation elites makes their country popular which is one of the essential attributes of great nations.

Achievements of these elites may also upgrade the people’s lives. Scientific innovation and discoveries, implementation of policies by a ruler can be beneficial to the citizen. We can take the example of the steam engine invented by James Watt which leads England to the path of industrialized era. Due to this industrialization, people of England, at that time, were having a good income that enhances their living standard. Similarly, allowing voting rights to Negro by Lyndon B Johnson created a sense of equality among US citizen. The triumph of a country ruler, artists or scientist can be used as emblematic of the great nation as they can enhance quality of people life.

However, the achievement cannot always be an indicator of people having a good life. The ruler can cause afflict citizen to make his/her vision successful. You can take an example of Alexander. Even though he is most celebrated emperor, citizen during his period of time was mostly besieged with war. Similarly, the scientific innovation can also cause a tremor to the country own citizen. The most striking example is a development of nuclear weapon: The US citizen fear, which was patently manifested during the cold war between the US and the Soviet Union, from the unconventional warfare; however, the US was the first country to develop and test an atomic bomb. Thus, the country citizens are not always benefited by the achievement of these elites.

In conclusion, the country can be well known due to the achievement of their leader, artist, and ruler. Their achievement can also provide benefit to their citizen; however, it can also afflict their citizen due to their achievement.