I would say it might be true; however knowledge plays a main role In most professions and academic fields. A clear explanation for imagination and knowledge may clarify why first is important from my point of view.

it is so obvious that without knowledge it is not easy that someone can become a professional; academic career entailing a different hierarchy level of standard education are required for someone to become a professional and without it seems impossible, so why given such a credit to imagination is a big question.

Before a proper response to that question, preferably a little definition about imagination is necessary. imagination is an internal ability, the capacity to act or power to create, form new images, ideas, phenomena, or concepts of external objects without seeing them, or develop such things after seeing beyond what they are in external world.

So, the more powerful this ability, the more effectively and precisely can function and carry out the professional work; individuals with weak imagination, less likely motivated to pursue an academicals activity, if they do their work efficiency in future would be insignificant. Instead, people with powerful imagination would have a high accuracy, and they are highly likely motivated to follow up further professional skills, enhance them and acquire excellent things in science, technology, and so on. To support the position given more credit to imagination rather than knowledge, it has to mention that so-called professionals who have got their degree, certified and accredited, if their natural imagination is not as strong as enough, not only will not have a reasonable progression on their professional career, but also forget what they have learnt within their education. On the other hand, those who are really talent with a powerful imagination, they quickly pass their academic courses with high scores and as long as they learn, they search and find new things and contribute to the mainstream of science and their own professional.