Important truths begin as outrageous, or at least uncomfortable, attacks upon the accepted wisdom of the time.

Any particular time period in the history of mankind tends to hold certain views about various things like nature, social behaviour, science, and these viewed will prevail as firmly accepted notions with incontrovertible evidences. Eventually, any slight deviation from these notions pointed out, although with factual evidences, will face resistance and will be treated with a snub attitude. The reason being these new notions are treated as outright disrespectful and deliberate attacks to the currently accepted wisdom.

Such disdainful treatments for new truths are not rare in the history. When Nicolas Copernicus has pointed about the existing flaw with Geo-Centric theory, instead of considering his thoughts, he was persecuted by members of the society and his notions are marked groundless. Further, the same is the case with Galileo when he talked about the nature of celestial bodies. The concerning authorities have gone such an inhumane extent to house arrest him and discourage him from carrying out his experiments which later went on to alter the way we perceive the universe. Similarly, when Darwin has put forth his principle of evolution, people have really become furious over mention of ancestral relations with chimpanzees. In this way history has provides us enough evidence that, truths, which are conspicuously a new perception will be a deviation from the existing wisdom will be treated uncomfortably and egregious, without recognizing their internal intentions and significance.

Interestingly enough, the reasons for such treatment of deviations are not much varied. Mostly it will be the authoritative people who are afraid such new notions and feel those as a desecrating elements to the society and consequently, they tend to bury these notions and inhibit such developments with all their means. Such scenario will often slow down the progress of mankind in many ways. For example, there are instances of inhumane rituals like early child marriage and forcing the widow die along with her husband had been under practice in several societies and social reformers who opposed such things stating their evilness, unjustness are often marked by people who are in the higher position in a society, as disrespectful people with ulterior motives. These are just to discourage those reforms and make their attempts futile.

In conclusion, a truth which is a blatant deviation from accepted norms of a society or a group have always faced and will face defiance and contentions from various things.