It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

Friends make an important part of life, we share everything with them and even we sometimes take their opinions into consideration in shaping our decisions. So, it is absolutely necessary to have friends in every stage of our life, who understand and support us. While it is important to make new new friends it is more important to retail our old friends too.

Firstly, our old friends who are close to us will know lot about us than the newer ones and therefore they can give better inputs during our situations which would fit us better. Also, we can rely on these important opinions of them while we make our decisions since they know us better. This may not be possible in the case of newer friends. For example, in my case, when I was really confused about the type of career I should pursue, I have consulted one of oldest friends and he has suggested me in this and this is the best suggestion I ever got. This was possible only because he knows me so well about my strengths, interests and areas I will like and will do better and his suggestion incorporated all these.On the other hand, this would have been less possible or not at all had I consulted a newer friend, not because they do not care about me but only because they might not know what I am strong at and what would fit me.

Further, we can be really free around our old friends since the the level of understanding would be very high. Rest assured, our secrets and fears are safe with them and we can rely on them more than on us. We will have so close understanding with older friends that some of our feelings and intentions between us are really tacit and does not require words to express. Additionally, it is easier to maintain friendship with older friends. For instance, I have an old friend with whom I haven't talked and met in years but suddenly he has called me up on my birthday to wish, I felt really happy and we talked so much, even though we had a lot to catch up, the connection and rapport between us is so intimate that it didn't even feel like we haven't met in a while but met just yesterday or so. We made so many plans to meet and we ended up not making to it due to one of us has to cancel them for other reason, and none of us got offended truest to our heart since we know that situations and have understood the perspective of each other. This would be no way possible with a newer friend nevertheless it would take time to attain this with them after which ironically they should be called 'older' friends and not newer anymore.

To sum up, as mentioned in the reasons above, although it is important to make new friends and expand our circle, it is absolutely important to maintain older friends this will ensure we have 'quality' of friends rather than 'quantity' of them.