Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better?

In my opinion, it is better for both children and parents if young adults lived with their parents for a longer time rather than seeking for independence at an earlier stage.

To begin with, it is unequivocally agreed that pre-adulthood is really a confusing phase of human life. People in this age group have to deal with lot of changes both physically, mentally and even socially in some cases. They have to make lot of decisions in various aspects of like college, major to take up, whether to attend an academic college or pursue an art like music, painting as a career and many such decisions. In this case, it would be definitely helpful for them if they are around their parents whom they could consult on these important decisions. On the other hand, it would be really stressful and presents a higher chance of making bad uninformed decisions just because of immaturity and lack of knowledge, since sometimes we may not know what is good and what is not. Additionally, living with parents poses lesser chances of people falling in prey to bad habits which is common at that age than living independently from their parents.

Further, in the case where people really want to pursue an experimental career or one of their passions as a career, it would be practically very difficult if such person has none but themselves to take care of the financials. As a result, many such people make sacrifices to their dream careers and take up more safe career. On the contrary, if they have the financial backing from their parents or family, it would have been easy for these people to pursue that dream path without worrying about failures. This even creates a sense of freedom and confidence which may result in higher chances of success too. To expand, if we consider the tuition fees of many colleges, it is on the expensive side and many students take up loans from banks for a considerable interest. This inevitably creates an abstract stress over the student about what might happen if they were unable to get a job with a decent pay and end up not paying the loan. This fear will avoid them from taking no major apart from the well established and career guaranteed ones even though their interests do not align with those majors. On the contrary, this would have been different had they had the financial support from their parents.

Having said this, we should also agree that being independent from families from an early age itself teaches the kids different aspects of life and brings about coping skills and prepares them for the life ahead.

To sum up, even though being independent from parents has its advantages, having parents around for a sufficient enough time provides mental support and financial security for a young adult.