In general, people are living longer now. Discuss the causes of thisphenomenon. Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

The life expectancy of people has raised all across the world and we definitely owe it to the advancement in technology which has in turn improved the living conditions when compared to that from decades ago. The subsequent paragraphs explain the particular areas which have been positively affected leading to more life expectancy.

Firstly, the striking improvement in healthcare has direct impact on increasing the life expectancy of people. For example, we have found cures to different deadly diseases like chicken pox, plaque, polio which have caused great loss of life in the past. If it weren’t were the development of this medicines, these diseases would have been still prevalent leading to less life expectancy. Further, technology has helped doctors design safer and more sound operation procedures with better success rate. In particular, the process of human birth is the process which has improved the best with technology. It was a widely known fact that, during the pre-technology age, deliveries used to be very difficult and usually caused deaths to either the baby or the mother or both in some cases.

Secondly, with technology, industry has gained momentum, in turn leading to creation of many jobs for people. As a result, more people are now employed and getting salary which means they can afford daily basic requirements like food, medicine, proper housing, etc. This has a pivotal role in making people live longer. To elaborate, for instance, in the past, the phenomenon of people not being able to buy food leading to deteriorated living conditions and eventually early deaths is not rare. However now, situations like this, have relatively taken downward slope because of people having salaried works.

Moreover, it is also partly because of awareness in people, the life expectancy has increased. In other words, in many countries, there used to be many blind superstitious beliefs and practices which are in general detrimental, such things have decreased gradually with time. For example, having more number of off springs was considered a symbol of social status, while we all can agree how easily this can lead to over population and lack of food resulting in untimely deaths. All credit goes to the social awareness, such practices are almost vanished now resulting in people having enough food and living longer.

To sum up, in the light of aforementioned reasons, the causes of better life expectancy are advancement in technology leading to better living conditions and also because of general awareness in people.