It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

There are a lot opinions on whether it is more important for students to know facts or learn concepts. If I were asked, I would definitely agree that it more important to learn and understand the underlying concepts than knowing facts. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, there will be a ton of facts in any given subject area and it is practically impossible to know and remember enough of them which would give a sense of satisfaction and understanding. For this reason, if we just concentrate on learning and remembering facts in a subject and hope to gain understanding of the subject on a whole, we will simply get frustrated as all such attempts will be futile. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. During my school days, I had to study history. Without thinking any further and without getting any teacher guidance, I started out to study this with the impression that just knowing the plain facts like Alexander the Great tried to conquer the whole world, Romans prefer land over and remembering certain important dates, etc, would be suffice to score better. However, to my surprise, this way never worked. Neither I completed the syllabus nor I scored good marks. Consequently, these unsuccessful attempts made me feel dejected and demotivated. In the end, after consulting my teacher, I came to know that a better way to study would be understanding the reasons and motivations behind each character’s action rather than the action itself.

Secondly, understanding underlying concepts of a topic will give student the ability to extend his/her knowledge to new areas. Drawing from my own experience, about ten years ago, I had to study Physics as a part of High School. In particular, we were being taught Static Electricity, it is very interesting topic for me and fortunately, this time, I have paid attention to the underlying theory of the subject and learnt it. As a result, I was able to extend this to new areas and I have even designed my own rules for solving new problems in the textbook which the lectures haven’t taught us. For example, I noticed that the dynamics of Gravitational force is exactly similar to that of Electrostatic force and I was able to solve the problems related to Gravity as well. If I hadn’t learnt the foundational and basis theory of Electrostatics but rather simply tried to remember the formulae, I wouldn’t have found this beautiful relation between the seemingly different topics. It is certainly clear to see why we need to concentrate on understanding the theory rather than mugging up facts.

In conclusion, in the light of aforementioned reasons, I feel we should pay more attention to foundational theory of a subject rather than the superficial and bland facts because it would give us the capacity to extend our knowledge, find new connections between topics and also because it is just practically impossible to know all facts pertaining to any topic in a subject.