The increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves.

The pace of life is increasing manifold especially since last two decades. As our life is becoming more comfortable, it is getting more complicated at the same time. Thus, the statement that the increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problem than it solves is agreeable despite the comforts this pace of life bring with it.

The increase in the pace of life is due to many interdependent factors, out of which technological development is a core one. Considering its manifold advantages, one is tempted to think against the argument. After all, advancements in transport, communication, computer technology, etc. have led to a high-standard of modern life. Private cars and various modes of transport have made commuting faster and increased the radius of the life; nobody in the world is a stranger now but a friend not yet contacted thanks to the social media; high-tech computer have enabled faster calculation of complex problems, massive information gathering and onerous word processing; myriad gadgets right from the washing machine to dish washer have made daily home chores a matter of minutes; and so on. Despite these comforts, as discussed below, the pace of modern life has done more harm than good.

The most affected aspect of our life due to its rapid pace today is our own health. Because of the changes in our lifestyle, we hardly have any time for exercise, recreation or indulgence. There is seldom any chance to relax, and even if we do get time, thanks to the smart phones and the laptops, we are rarely out of reach and out of occupation. A question we must address is: “How many times have we socialized with our friends without any unexpected call to interrupt?” Even on weekends, immersed in the convenience of home delivery and the pleasure of video games; majority of the people are less inclined to go out of home to exercise and breathe fresh air. The overall result is the decline in our physical and psychological well-being.

Moreover, the rapid pace of society has led to furious competition and increased sense of insecurity forcing many people to bear unimaginable pressure to save their jobs and maintain their living. We are constantly working and racing against time to outdo each other and rise higher, earn more and have more of everything. Unable to cope with this competition, pace and pressure, more and more people are suffering from depression and anxieties, as also reflected by higher number of suicide cases compared to say twenty years before. This is the vicious reality of modern fast-paced life.

The increasing pace of the world has also harmed the environment in many ways. To cater for increasing demands and needs of the society for food, electricity, transport, gadgets, etc., more and more fossil fuel is being burned through the manufacturing industries, power plants, vehicles, etc. Products and devices are being manufactured at fastest possible rate and minimum market cost with complete disregard to the environmental consequences vis-à-vis contaminated rivers, spoiled agricultural and forest lands, polluted river and what not. The resulting global warming, which heats the earth’s atmosphere, now threatens the very existence of human civilization.

In conclusion, though the increasingly rapid pace of the life today has brought many comforts and luxuries; it has created more problems than it has served mainly because of our own shortcomings and decadent humanity.