Instead of making more leisure time available, instant foods, instant communication, faster transportation have contributed to a more rushed and frantic pace than ever before.

In this techno-oriented world, life has become so fast and dynamic that it changes its pace with every micro-second. This ever-changing nature of life has lead to development of fast achieving goods like cooking of eatables in two minutes, a wireless device accumulating the world under a umbrella term-converting into a global village, instant mode of transportation like development of super-fast cars and trains diminishing the geographical disparity by enhancing the speed factor and thus decreasing the inversely related time with it. To be very precise, these modes made the life smooth going and easy to handle. Contrary to this, the never ending demands and urges of life shows the upward trend of the competition of life. With growth and development of all the comforts and luxuries, there emerged a rat-race towards the attainment of all these commodities, thus pushing the individual towards a vicious circle of demands and desires. Thus, these instant products, on the other hand, has complicated the simplicity and relaxed pace of life.

The innovations and advancements of science has provided the individual with the enough gadgets, resources etc so as to reduce the work period and hence enabling the person to enjoy his or her life by utilizing the free time by promoting his self-interests and pastime. An upward trend in tourism within a nation or to foreign countries assure this fact that now-a-days people are travelling more frequent during their vacation or leisure time and this becomes possible because of discoveries of various commodities that lessen the burden of human work or labor. Just look around and you will see various factors- from a simple mixer-grinder of the kitchen to washing machine of clothes, from the desktop to the handy gadget like kindle and laptops, from the churner of cement to the thresher in the farms; everything grants enough time to an individual to celebrate the life.

On the other hand, one can't refute the fact, these too have made the system of life more convoluted and involved. Have a look at the past, when commodities were bought using Barter system and thus an individual was concerned just to ascertain for his family the basic necessities of life. They used to have a simple rule 'simple living, high thinking' and thus reducing the burden of earning money to attain all the luxuries of life. The employees are under constant stress to display their professionalism and their commitment towards their official responsibilities. The emerging cases of suicides, depression, anxieties, mental disorders etc clearly represent the picture that how chronically this competition is weakening or thwarting the mental peace of mind. In allurement of accumulating more, an individual is getting involved into the malpractices like theft, robbery, thus increasing the crime rate of society.

To conclude, it can be said that the modern developments have indeed saved time for humans, but it is the competitive spirit of humans that has made them utilize the time thus saved for increasing their productivity, thereby making their lives hurried and hectic. It is humans desire to achieve more and more in any realm of human endeavor which makes them frenetic, frenzied, and rush and not the technology, and as long as the human desire for the better, this trend will continue and no achievements can make him to have more time to relax