Issue Essay:-People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

The prompt concludes that people who provide justifications after their decisions (either good or bad) have been made are in general, poor decision makers. There are several reasons and scenarios that can be drawn from everyday lives of people to provide premises for this conclusion.

There are several instances where people get influenced by the image they would start portraying for themselves after taking a certain decision. People could do this for raising their standards in the society, even though the decision might be detrimental on a personal and financial basis. People's vision starts to become cloudy by not clearly analysing the impact of a decision or choice prior to making that decision and instead focussing on the instant gratification achieved from that decision. For example, lot of investments, such as buying x units of a given stock based on some website's recommendation or purchasing a house by taking out a huge loan may seem beneficial in the short term, but can give birth to serious financial issues later during life. This usually ties people to their current jobs and does not allow them to be flexible with career options and hobbies.

On a related note, an impulsive purchase is another situation that can explain the issue at hand. For example, an iPhone costs about 2 to 3 times the average income of an individual in India. This does not, however prevent people from splurging on it, thanks to the credit card offers made by banks. The average user, may very well use a phone that costs 20% of the iPhone as a daily driver instead. Since iPhone is considered voguish in the Indian society, people come up with flawed logic by citing one off features such as 3d touch, that was recently introduced in the latest version of the iPhone. However, 3d touch is not a valid, primary justification for splurging on a expensive phone.

On the other hand, one might argue that since people are able to justify decisions with logic, they may not be bad decision makers after all. What really separates bad decision makers from good ones is the ability to write down the reasons why one opts for choice a over choice b prior to making that choice. If one isn't able to do this, there is no guarantee that the person wouldn't repeat the same things while making a decision between choice c and choice d. Hence, it is imperative to come up with clear and cogent justifications prior to making them.

Thus, to conclude, it is necessary to justify before deciding on a choice to be termed as a good decision maker.