Issue: - In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

In the above statement what author is trying to convey is that the most important thing is imagination in most fields of profession and academics rather than knowledge which is true up to some extent but on contradictory if there is no knowledge in that particular field than imagination of no use. Therefore, I would say that the above statement contains many flaws which isn’t cleared by author.

Firstly, for having imagination about certain field let it be professional or academics certain basic knowledge is important otherwise it would be like looking in the sky and imagining that what if sun is not the centre and earth is, as a matter of fact imagining things doesn't affect anything but if there is some knowledge in that field than he would know that there are theories supporting to this phenomenon. Therefore, knowledge is equally important as imagination.

Secondly as children we are sent to schools and colleges what is that for; if imagination is the most important thing than what is the need of schools and colleges in life; anyone could imagine anything but we are sent to schools so that we gain knowledge in many fields and we can imagine things the right direction. In any profession also imagination can be productive but only when it is viable and to know whether that thing we are imagining is viable it is important that we carry some knowledge or information in our mind.

In the statement the word used 'more important' is wrong if it was equal than I would definitely agree with the statement as we know for any new research or any new thing to be found imagination is very important without it there would be no development in any field with imagination and knowledge many new and innovative things are invented. in statement it’s is stated that 'in most professions and academic fields' i would like to raise a question here why there is use of most instead it should be 'in every professions and academic fields'.

After pointing the above flaws in the statement i would conclude that wrong comparison is done between knowledge and imagination, in real life both are equally important in any field of professions or academics. If the statement would be more particular rather than ambiguous than it would have some meaning.