Issue: - In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

In the given Issue prompt, the author opines that in most fields – whether professional or academic, ability to ideate and being creative is of much higher precedence than having knowledge in that particular field. This statement is not necessarily true. When can we have ideas? The prerequisites to being imaginative is having pertinent knowledge about the concerning field. We can’t imagine a person knowing nothing about Rocket Science designing a futuristic spaceship. That is simply not viable. Even though the author might seem very convincing, but his claim has several underlying flaws that not only make it seem specious but also render it invalid.

The author in his statement mentions “ Most Professions” . What exactly does he mean by it? Do most professions include artists, scientists, politicians, academicians, businessmen or somebody else? Whatever be the author’s intention behind mentioning most professions, all of them require a particular level of knowledge that needs to be at par with the ability to ideate. Even for imagining, pertinent information is required. Wright brothers, those who invented the airplanes, took their inspiration from birds, but without deep insight into mechanics of how atmosphere behaves and how to use it for their own advantage, could their invention be possible? The answer is clearly NO. Since, they had the determination to imagine and the diligence to keep building new models based on the failures of the previous ones, they succeeded. Hence, clearly imagination can’t be more important than knowledge.

Imagination and Knowledge go hand in hand. Each one is incomplete without the other. Consider politicians and Bureaucrats, their task is to devise the best policies possible for the betterment of society. If they base their stratagem purely on their imagination rather than on ground realities, obviously the results of their policies would be unanticipated and bad. Mark Zuckerberg, owner and founder of the multibillion-dollar social networking site Facebook, wouldn’t have been able to create Facebook had he not known programming.

Conversely, one might cite the example to Steve Jobs, father of Apple. They may say Steve Jobs, a college dropout, didn’t know anything about computers, but he still was able to establish one of the most precious and imaginative tech companies (that still makes awesome computers) among all. To those who believe that Steve Jobs single handedly built Apple, they are simply wrong. Very few people might know that Steve Jobs best friend, Stephen Wozniak, was the mastermind behind the design of Macintosh computers. It is unquestionable that Jobs was the person who because of his ability to create brought about a revolution in the tech industry, but this wouldn’t have been possible without Wozniak and thousand others who had the knowledge to implement Jobs’ s idea.

In conclusion, the author is at fault when he states that imagination and creativity are for more important than knowledge in any profession. While being innovative may be required, but undermining the importance of knowledge is an erroneous assumption. Both ideation and possessing adequate knowledge are necessities for any profession.