All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

In the given Issue prompt, the author is primarily concerned with most companies wasting their resources on hiring third-party consultants to increase their efficiency rather than relying on employee feedback. All companies are different. Their focus, principles and the purview towards their employees vary vastly. So, one cannot aver what should be the best way for companies to increase their productivity, however, there might be some criteria that may provide a keen insight into whether a company requires external advisors or not.

There are basically two types of companies. One which focus on the profits others who focus on productivity of their employees. “Profit”-focused companies are most likely to hire outside consultants. This is because the feedback provided by the employees may be biased. They would try to blame others for the decrease in profits and never admit their own mistakes or incapability. Moreover, if the owner of the company is not satisfied with the company’s performance even though its employees are putting everything into it, the last thing that the company requires isn’t some feedback from its underperforming employees rather some fresh insight from a new set of unbiased eyes.

The other type of company values the welfare of its employees and believes that to increase its efficiency, the productivity of its employees should be increased. An outside person will not have the first-hand experience of what goes on inside the company and why it is underperforming. The employees of the company on the other hand would actually know what is being done wrong and may provide the accurate description of the problem and its solution that is creating a hindrance for increasing efficiency of the company’s operations.

One needs to understand that no two companies are the same. They have different work ethics, work cultures and employees. What may work for one company may not work for the other. Employees’ reviews can be biased and may ultimately do more harm than good for the company. On the other hand, outside consultants hired may not have a keen insight into what is actually going on in the company. No single method is the best one. It is best left for the company to decide who is providing the best advice or does the best answer lie somewhere between the two. These are just some specific isolated instances of what the criterion might be. The best answer may lie completely aloof to what has been stated in this essay. In conclusion, the company is the best judge and it must objectively listen to both the sides (employees and outside advisors) and pursue a path that is rational and the most apt in the given situation.