Pirouettes Ballet School is the clear choice for any child. Of all the dance schools in Elmtown, Pirouettes has the most intensive program, and our teachers have danced in the most prestigious ballet companies all over the world. Many of our students have gone on to become professional dancers with top dance companies.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the given argument, the author is of the opinion that Pirouettes Ballet School is the foremost choice for any student wishing to attend a dance school. He backs his argument by stating that of all dance schools in Elmtown, Pirouettes Ballet School has the most intensive dance program, and their teachers have danced in the most prestigious ballet companies. Also, many of their students have gone on to become professional dancers in top most dancing companies. The author's argument might seem plausible to many, however, there are several questions if left unanswered may render this argument invalid.

The author here has failed to consider a very important aspect of any school. Rather than looking at the qualifications of a teacher, it is much more important to look at the ability with which a teacher can relate to his students and impart knowledge to them. A good teacher should possess the ability to alter his teaching methods in accordance with the aptitude level and learning pace of a student. Even though, the teacher may be a dancing prodigy, it is not always the case that he might be the best coach. For instance, Sachin Tendulkar, a world-known cricketer hasn't been able to get his son Arjun Tendulkar qualified even for the Under-16 cricket team in India. Thus, a person having excellent credentials in a field doesn’t necessarily underscore that the same person might be the best teacher in that particular field.

Another important point that the author missed is the pricing of the dance program. It might not be feasible for all children to attend the school as their family might be financially weak. It is possible that other schools in Elmtown are ready to provide a similar dance program for a lesser fee. It might be possible that some schools are even providing scholarships and hence students might be inclined to attend these schools. Thus, Pirouettes Ballet School might not be the clear choice for all the students. Also, the author has conveniently missed the location accessibility of Pirouettes Ballet School. The town and this school might not be easily accessible for a student because of the huge distance from their place of residence. Also, it is not said if Pirouettes Ballet School provides any temporary residence or hostels for its students. These are some of the important criteria for a student selecting a dance school.

Moreover, the credibility of the data provided by the author can be questionable. The author has failed to back his assertion with statistical evidence. The author just states that many of their students have gone on to become professional dancers. However, he has not backed this claim with quantified data. For instance, in India, getting into an IIT for pursuing the course of engineering is a big deal. Many coaching institutes have started for the sole purpose of providing the coaching for appearing in competitive examinations for getting admission into an IIT. One such example is "Kota" from where thousands of students get selected. However, lakhs of students attend the coaching classes in "Kota". Thus, only a fraction of their students are able to clear the competitive exam. Hence, it can't be said that coaching in "Kota" is the best. The same analogy can be applied for Pirouettes Ballet School where many students pursue the dance course but only a few are able to reach the pinnacle.

In a nutshell, even though the author asserts that Pirouettes Ballet School is the best dancing school in Elmtown, he has failed to back his claim with credible statistical evidence. Moreover, he has left many questions about the Pirouettes Ballet School, its faculty and former students unanswered. This makes the argument presented by the author weak and hence Pirouettes Ballet School might not be the clear choice for all children yearning to attend dance school.