Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

In the given Issue prompt, the author considers that government has a greater responsibility of focusing on contemporary problems than trying to solve those that might happen in future. While this may be true to a certain extent, one cannot aver that government should totally ignore anticipated problems of the future and concentrate only on the immediate ones. The author’s argument is flawed and I mostly do not agree with what the author has stated.

Consider the problem of Global Warming. Is it an immediate problem or an anticipated problem of the future? Obviously, it is a problem of the future as we certainly don’t experience its effects now. But, maybe a hundred years from now, its effects might be disastrous. It can lead to a global ice caps meltdown, which may cause an estimated increase of about 6 to 12 inches in ocean water level. This, might not seem a dangerous, but it has the potential to flood thousands of kilometers of coastal areas. Just because it is a problem of the future doesn’t mean that we don’t have to worry about it now. Maybe in the future it reaches a level of noxiousness that is out of our capacity to control.

Consider another scenario in which the government has to decide whether they should employ their limited resources to build state-of-the-art buildings or for providing health care and educational benefits to its populace. It is logical to use the funds for providing health care and education to its citizens even though the results might not be immediately observable. This is because in the long run, it is the people that would drive the economy of the country rather than some fancy buildings. North Korea is a good example of what has been stated in the above example. The world knows the derelict state of North Korea’s economy. This is due to its leader Kim Jong Un, who is interested in equipping his country with Nuclear missiles and inculcating a sense of xenophobia among the citizens of North Korean peninsula rather than imparting education and health care.

Conversely, it is not important to always focus on anticipated problems of the future. A secure future is possible only if our present is safe. For instance, USA after the 9/11 attacks increased its military spending. Why? Terrorism is a problem of the present and it is bound to become a problem of the future if not tackled today. Thus, it is necessary for the government of any country to focus on the problems of the future of the present as well as the future up to a certain extent rather than only one of these.

In a nutshell, the author’s statement that governments need to focus only on immediate problems rather than anticipated problems of the future is skewed and false. Instead, governments need to take into account a holistic picture of all the problems that they face now and those that might become potential maladies in near future and decide the best strategy to tackle them.