Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

In the given issue, the author is of the opinion that young people should focus on achieving worthy goals instead of following their dreams. The author's reasoning for the claim is that most people's dreams are based on selfish interest. One may agree to author's reasoning at first glance however on careful scrutiny one may understand why his claim lacks credibility.

While worthy goals may appear to be more realistic and achievable, "following one's dreams" makes a person more resolute. Since the person is more determined, he works with diligence to achieve that goal. For instance, Dr. James R Doty a famous neurosurgeon and head of the neurology department of Stanford University had grown in the most perilous circumstances in Lancaster. His father was a dipsomaniac, his mother remained in a state of persistent depression, his brother belonged to the LGBT community and wasn't accepted by the society back then in the 1970s, his sister ran off with her lover at a tender age of twelve. His family didn't have any money to pay their monthly rent nor did they have the money to send their children to college. Yet, James managed to come out these conditions and become a successful person because he had a dream that one day he'll become a doctor. He followed his dreams no matter what the society or fate had in store for him.

On the other side, restricting oneself to achieve worthy goals not only hampers the progress but also dampens the will and effort that one might be ready to put in if he/ she were pursuing their dreams. This will waste one's energy and time and unnecessarily limit one's progress.

The author in support of his claim reasons that many people's dreams are inherently selfish. This is most likely to be true. But I disagree with the fact that people should not follow their dreams because it is in their selfish interest. Selfishness is the prima facie reason to make people resolute in achieving their dreams. It makes a person sincerer and diligent because it imbibes a feeling that he's the only one who can tread the path of his life. No one else can do it for him. And to change his destiny he will work harder than ever. Pursuing one's dreams brings out the best in anyone as the person is inclined to succeed at any cost.

To conclude, young people should definitely focus on following their dreams rather than trying to achieve elusive "worthy goals". The desire to fulfill one's dream makes a person resolute which in turn results in progress directly or indirectly.