Issue Topic #12

Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The author asserts that Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition. However, the following essay will argue this may not always be the cases.

Generally speaking, free university education surely beneficial for country in longer term. This is because higher education of people could lead to smarter (citizen) society in some cases. When people get more education for free, their intellectual 능력 capacity gets higher and this could result better choices for the country. Less education might result decay and corruption of country such as countries in Africa, they are struggling with basic standards of living issues and could not handle other things such as education, and hard to get improvement of country for decades. Also, this can give equal chances for higher education for students who are not able to afford expensive tuition. All students who want to study should get same chances, and this can decrease differences with the rich and the poor. Students can also focus on study. Lower pressure about tuition can make students less stress about other problems and can concentrate more. Accordingly, based on examples above, the author's asserts seem plausible to some degree.

However, the author's claim that free university education for students who has been admitted may not always be prudent. For instance, governments already offering education until high school and over that could be optional. Furthermore, college scholarship for superb students are also offering to some who could make their own way without further support of their parents. Thinking of limited budget of taxes, more than current could be burden. This can also lead to other side effects, such as some students could get lazy after admission (entrance) without financial burden of tuition. They don't need to take time and effort to study because the government will pay for this. Misuse and abuse of this program will lead to huge loss of limited money. Contrary to the author's claim, free higher education might not work well as expected.

In conclusion, the author's claim might be beneficial under certain circumstances, in light of above counterparts about drawbacks, such as misuse and abuse of policy, the author's claim cannot be fully agreed with.