Argue Topic#130

The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have filed a formal complaint, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants throughout the rest of the country."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author concludes that the Happy Pancake House should extend replace butter by margarine to save costs throughout the rest of the country. However, the author's recommendation is unpersuasive because it relies on several questionable assumptions.

To begin with, the author assumes that only abot 2 percent of customers have filed a formal complaint, which indicates that an averave of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change but this may not be the case. However, not filing complaints cannot exactly mean that they are happy with the change. Instead, people were not satisfied with the change, but they just not decided to report the complaints officially or they just decide not to come back to the store, which could result decline of customers and could reduce profits significantly. Therefore, further evidence such as percents of satiesfied customers about the change should be required to verify the author's assumption.

Furthermore, it is assumed that people of Happy Pancake House who required butter did not know the differences between butter and margarine becaues they do not complain when they got margarine instead of butter but this may also be flawed. This is because no complaint cannot exactly mean they did not know the difference. People know the difference but they just ate without any complaint about this. Also the word many could not show exact quantity of people. Thue, the evidence which shows the number of servers who actually replied or survey about costomers weather they know the change or not is necessary.

Finally, the author's conclusion relies on the assumtion that the change should be extended to whole country, which should be substantiated with further support.

The author assumes the situation in southwest could be general and adaptable to whole country, but it may be typical and regional. In that case, if they adapt the change to whole country, and people of other regions are not satisfied with the cange, this could lead to huge loss of Happy Pancake House. Therefore, the further evidence about regional charicteristics should be questioned.

The author's conclusion relies on questionable assumption in several instances that is critical to suppot the conclusion. Therefore, evidence about percents of satiesfied customers about the change, survey about costomers weather they know the change, and regional charicteristics should be provided.